Maryland has for many years had some of the strictest restrictions for carrying a firearm in the country, only awarding conceal carry licenses to applicants that can demonstrate “a good and substantial reason” for needing to carry a gun. In June 2022, the Supreme Court ruled that a similar law in New York was unconstitutional, resulting in a loosening of restrictions in our own state. In early July 2022, Gov. Larry Hogan instructed state law enforcement that demonstrating a good and substantial reason was no longer a requirement for concealed carry applicants, which is good news for many civilians that have long wanted to carry a firearm for their own protection.
What are the requirements for a concealed carry permit in Maryland?
The ability for average citizens to receive a concealed carry permit has been expanded, but the requirements are still significant. Anyone applying for a permit must meet the following criteria:
- Applicants must be over 18. Those between the ages of 18 and 21 may only receive a carry permit if it’s required for their employment.
- Applicants must not have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed, or convicted of a criminal offense for which they could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
- You must not have been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance (e.g. drugs).
- You must not be an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance (unless under legitimate medical direction).
- Prove, following an investigation, that you don’t have a propensity for violence or instability that may make you a danger to yourself or others.
- Complete the Maryland State Police-approved firearms training course within two years of submitting your application.
Applicants that meet these criteria can submit an application through the Maryland State Police licensing portal along with the following documents:
- Color passport-size photograph
- Electronic fingerprint transmission receipt
- Certificate of Handgun Training or documentation of exemption
- Applications for a new license also come with a $75 application fee, which does not include fingerprinting fees.
Where am I allowed to carry a firearm?
Receipt of a concealed carry permit does not give you free rein to carry a gun wherever you wish. Current Maryland law restricts the carrying of a firearm by civilians in the following locations, although this list is not all-inclusive:
- On school property
- Within 1,000 feet of a demonstration in a public place
- In legislative buildings
- Aboard aircraft
- In lodging establishments where the innkeeper reasonably believes individuals possess property that may be dangerous to other individuals, such as firearms or explosives.
- On dredge boats, other than two 10-gauge shotguns
- In or around State-owned public buildings and grounds
- On Chesapeake Forest Lands
- In State Forests
- In State Parks
- In State Highway Rest Areas, unless properly secured within a vehicle
- In community adult rehabilitation centers
- In child care centers, except for small centers located in residences, firearms may not be kept on the premises.
If you’ve applied for a concealed carry permit in Maryland and believe you were unfairly
rejected, we can help. With offices in Baltimore, Columbia, Towson, Northern Virginia, Westminster, and Dundalk, Albers & Associates is here to help you with any questions you may have. Contact us, or call our experts at Albers & Associates at (443) 543-8517 to learn how we can aid you with a free consultation.