Driving under the influence is taken very seriously across the United States. When an individual is charged with this offense, they are facing severe consequences that may impact many aspects of their life. The State of Maryland aims to hold individuals accountable for their actions when they break laws regarding driving under the influence.
If an individual is charged with driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time, they may be subject to the following consequences:
- A fine of $1,000
- Up to one year of imprisonment
- 12 points on their license, which can result in increased insurance premium
- The potential for up to 6 months of license revocation
Each subsequential driving under the influence offense in Maryland will result in increased consequences. For example, a second offense can result in the following penalties:
- A fine of $2,000
- At least five days of imprisonment with a maximum of up to two years
- 12 points on the individual’s drivers license
- the potential for up to one year of license revocation
If this second conviction is within a 5 year period, the individual may also be subject to a mandatory license suspension, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and possible participation in an alcohol abuse program.
If you have been charged with a DUI, contact us today.
Albers & Associates is comprised of experienced personal injury, criminal defense, and family law attorneys. Our firm is proud to serve clients in Baltimore, Maryland. If you require strong legal representation that will fight to protect your future, contact the attorneys at Albers & Associates to schedule a consultation.