Driving While Suspended Attorney in Maryland
In order for a person to legally operate an automobile, they are required to have a driver’s license. The state of Maryland takes driving laws very seriously and will punish anyone who violates the traffic laws that all drivers are subject to. If a person violates the rules of the road, they can have their license taken away. In the state of Maryland, it is illegal for an individual to drive a vehicle if they do not have a valid driver’s license. Those who do so anyway can face harsh consequences as a result. If you were found driving with a suspended license, it is important to retain the services of an experienced attorney to help your case. Contact the skilled legal team at Decker, Tychostup & Friedman, LLC to learn how we can assist you.
Why would a license be suspended?
There are many reasons that the state of Maryland would choose to suspend an individual’s driving privileges. Some of the reasons that you may be facing a driver’s license suspension include, but are not limited to the following:
- Driving under the influence (Md. Code, Transp. § 16-205(a)(c)(d).)
- You refuse to take a chemical breath test (Md. Code, Transp. § 16-205.2(d).)
- There are outstanding warrants against you
- You have been convicted for failing to pay for gas
- You are more than 60 days behind in child support payments (Md. Code, Transp. § 16-204(b), § 16-206.1(a), § 16-203(b).)
- You are convicted of vehicular homicide while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (Md. Code, Transp. § 16-205(b).)
Consequences for Driving on a Suspended License
Even though driving is forbidden when one’s license is suspended, people still choose to get behind the wheel. With every legal violation comes consequences. Driving on a suspended license is no different. The penalties for driving on suspended license charges are as follows:
- A first offense charge is punishable by up to 1 year of incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000
- A second or subsequent offense may include up to 2 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000
It is also important to note that if you drive while suspended, Maryland will place 12 points on your license. When you accumulate at least 12 points, you may be subject to license revocation. Additionally, your vehicle may be subject to impoundment for a maximum of 180 days.
Contact a Maryland Driving While Suspended Attorney
If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, it is important that you retain the services of an experienced legal team. At Decker, Tychostup & Friedman, LLC, we can explore all legal options on your behalf to help you avoid jail time and overwhelming fines. We understand the seriousness of a driving on a suspended license charge and are here to help. For strong and knowledgeable legal representation when you need it most, contact Decker, Tychostup & Friedman, LLC today to schedule a consultation.