Maryland Gun License Attorneys
In the state of Maryland, there is a series of strict gun restrictions. Unlike many other states, Maryland does not have a provision in the state constitution for a “right to bear arms.” The state does, however, allow certain individuals to obtain firearms. It is important that anyone who possesses or wishes to possess a firearm does so lawfully. If you have questions regarding your Second Amendment rights, you may wish to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney that is well-versed in Maryland’s firearms laws. To discuss your case with a knowledgeable legal team, contact Decker, Tychostup & Friedman today and schedule a consultation.
Purchasing Laws in MD
In the state of Maryland, there is no permit necessary to purchase a rifle or a shotgun. However, if you wish to purchase a handgun, you must obtain a permit. Anyone who wishes to purchase or possess a handgun in Maryland must obtain a handgun qualification license. To meet the requirements for a handgun qualification license, you must be at least 21 years old, a Maryland resident, and have completed a certified firearms training course (unless exempt). Once you receive your license, it is valid for 10 years unless it is revoked.
Carry Permits in Maryland
If you wish to carry a handgun in the state of Maryland, you must submit an application for a permit to carry with the Secretary of State Police, as well as a notarized letter detailing why you are applying for a permit. If you meet the following criteria, you may be issued a permit:
- 18 years of age or older
- Not convicted of a felony or any other crime that is punishable by more than 1 year in prison
- Not convicted of an offense related to controlled dangerous substances
- Is not a habitual user of a controlled substance, an addict, or an alcoholic
- Has not exhibited instability or a violent propensity
- Has demonstrated a “good and substantial reason” to carry a handgun
Who is prohibited from owning firearms in Maryland?
Not everyone in Maryland is permitted to own firearms. The state has regulations for ownership based on who they feel could be a danger to themselves or society with access to a weapon. Individuals who are not permitted to possess firearms include the following:
- Convicted felons
- Persons who have been convicted of violent crimes
- Habitual drug users
- Habitual drunkards
- People under the age of 21
- Individuals who have spent 30 days or more in a mental institution
Since 2013, there has been a ban on assault rifles, semi-automatic rifles, and large-capacity magazines in Maryland. If you are convicted for unlawfully possessing a firearm, you may face serious consequences, including jail time and thousands of dollars in fines. Of course, the penalties increase in severity when a person who is barred from owning a firearm has one in their possession.
Contact a Maryland Gun Permit Attorney
If you have questions regarding gun permit laws in the state of Maryland, it is important that you take the time to understand the legislation so you don’t find yourself in unnecessary trouble. The attorneys at Decker, Tychostup & Friedman can assist you in understanding your rights. If you have questions about the permit application process or any other gun permit topics, contact Decker, Tychostup & Friedman today to learn how we can assist you.